An Everyday Summer Makeup Look

picture280

So I’m no expert on makeup, and I definitely don’t wear it “daily” like the post title might suggest. But when I do do a day wear look, I almost always go for soft browns and a girly lip. (95% of the time I’m just wearing some powder and mascara, if I have the time, some eyeliner.)

But these are the products that I use more often than others, and they make for an easy but beautiful soft summer glow.

dailysummerview2

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=060b31f6da&view=att&th=1403759085387d6b&attid=0.0&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_x_uAOGohWpH_nPQNtVaT7&sadet=1375318176789&sads=Nv1vlrwj0QCZ67YY56FJKtPfcpE

These are my bases.
Foundation: Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse in Nude Light 4
Concealer: Neutrogena Healthy Skin 3-in-1 Concealer for Eyes in Light 10
Powder: Covergirl Clean Oil Control Pressed Powder in Medium Light 535
Eyelid Primer: Elf in Sheer #7501

I don’t use all of these everyday. Actually I rarely use more than one. On long days I go for the mousse, and on short or rushed days I reach for the powder and maybe a little concealer. I rarely use the primer unless I want my eyes to pop a little bit. The mousse texture is AMAZING on my combination skin and I definitely recommend it. As for the powder I’ve been using it for years and I can’t seem to find something that works just as good for me.

For this look, I used the foundation all over and a little bit of concealer under my eyes to ensure that the dark bags didn’t draw away from the look. I then dusted a little bit of powder over the face when I was done with the other makeup to set it all.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=060b31f6da&view=att&th=1403759085387d6b&attid=0.2&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_x_uAOGohWpH_nPQNtVaT7&sadet=1375318912602&sads=dFx1RrrsSldFlDYpGY-SEPFNBno

Next are the eye shadows.
Wet n Wild Coloricon Collection in Comfort Zone 738
Sonia Kashuk Eye Shadow Quad in Showstoppers 01
Physician’s Formula Shimmer Strips Shadow and Liner for Green Eyes

I don’t actually use eye shadow that much (or at all really) but when I do, I reach for these. I have tons of brown palettes, but this wet n wild one is by far my favorite, especially for the pretty low price.  Then I use some of the sparkle in the brown and white shades from the Sonia Kashuk quad for some extra pizzazz, and then the white from the Shimmer palette for my inner corners. I also sometimes use the purples and greens from the Simmer palette as eyeliners and it really makes my green eyes pop.

For the summer look, I use the first three shades in the left column of the Wet n Wild collection and blend them well. Then a little bit of the bottom left in the outer corner. It’s a really soft, shimmery look that makes my greenish hazel eyes glow.

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=060b31f6da&view=att&th=1403759085387d6b&attid=0.5&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_x_uAOGohWpH_nPQNtVaT7&sadet=1375319432827&sads=EuRNFTpUAG1JxPo1_lcOrCKjSJchttps://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=060b31f6da&view=att&th=1403759085387d6b&attid=0.6&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_x_uAOGohWpH_nPQNtVaT7&sadet=1375319459841&sads=-v1IyTDGjyCJSSov2DuikT1zP8k

Can’t forget the sweet lip!
Avon Totally Kissable Lipstick in Caressing Coral
Revlon Lipbutter in Sugar Frosting

This coral lipstick color is my absolute favorite this summer. I like pairing it with the soft lipbutter shade to make it into a sweet and flirty lip to die for. I actually am really impressed with Avon lipsticks and I definitely recommend them.

For this look I put on the lipstick like normal and then used my finger to dab some of the lip butter onto the middle of my lips for a little extra sheen.  Then I blotted, puckered, and rocked the perfect pout!

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=060b31f6da&view=att&th=1403759085387d6b&attid=0.4&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P_x_uAOGohWpH_nPQNtVaT7&sadet=1375320142819&sads=ILnhKV3T_vn9XXTro0jlyK0aoWA

And last but certainly not least, my everyday basic must-haves for this looks and all others.

Mascara: Maybelline Falsies Volume Express Flared in Very Black
Eyeliner: Maybelline Define-A-Line in Ebony Black

I included my powder again in this picture because this is basically my everyday routine. Powder, eyeliner, mascara, done. Maybe throw on some tinted lip balm or a lipstick if I’m feeling saucy. I never really noticed how many Maybelline products I actually use on a regular basis. I’ve been using this eyeliner for years and I don’t ever want to change. It smudges just enough to get the look I want and it stays put until I want it off. I never really had any luck with Maybelline mascaras until I tried the Falsies a couple years ago. I fell in love and haven’t drifted since. These are my tried and true products that work great for me.

For this look, I put on the eyeliner and then used the smudge tip at the end to soften and thicken up the line on the outer half of my waterline. (I’m not a huge upper eyeliner fan. I’m still working on it…) Then I generously apply the mascara to my upper lashes focusing of putting the product close to the lashline to give it a thicker appearance. Then I put a little bit on the bottom lashes and bam! A gorgeous soft summer look is created!

Image

So that’s it. I have tons of other makeup that I’ve hoarded over the years, but these are the ones that create that the summer look I find most beautiful for an easy summer day. Like I said before, I know I am no expert, but I like how this looks on me, and I’m hoping something I said here will help you create your favorite summer makeup look!

xoxo Gigi

One thought on “An Everyday Summer Makeup Look

  1. I’ve been barely wearing makeup this summer since it just seems to melt off anyway! When I do, I’m also loving that Wet n Wild palette as well as their purple one. Revlon lip butters and stain balms are also amazing for summer!

    xo, Michelle
    neonrattail.com

I love to hear what you have to say!