Almay Liquid Lip Balm (Review)

picture866

I’m not a huge Almay fan; this is actually the only product I own from them. However, I heard some gal on youtube talking about these, and one day I decided to try one of these “liquid lip balms.” Then a few months later I somehow found myself with almost the entire collection. I have 8 shades total, and I believe there are 10 total. I only have 7 shades swatched here though; the other one got lost in the depths of my backpack.

Now let’s get down to it.

They’re all creamy finishes with decent pigmentation; obviously some shades are more vibrant than others when on the lips. They have the perfect amount of shine for me! Just enough to make my lips look pout-y and plump. Also, they have a sweet vanilla/cupcakey smell that I find delightful, but it might bother others. The wear time is pretty average for a gloss: probably around 2-3 hours depending on the shade and what your mouth is up to. Some of the shades do have a light staining effect as well.

As for the liquid lip balm claim? These are pretty moisturizing; they feel fantastic on the lips. They don’t dry out my lips as they fade, which is a huge plus. The label says its “color + care” and although they feel comfortable, I wouldn’t say they’re doing anything for my lips. I’m not complaining, though, these look and feel really good.

Lip Swatches:

1.2 1.1

Blooming Balm

– A light neutral pink. This was the first one I ever bought. Although it isn’t very exciting, I wear this one so often. It’s the perfect topper for a huge spectrum of pinks, because it’s pigmentation isn’t overwhelming. I also like this shade for a more natural, easy look.

3.2 3.1

Cantaloupe Cream

– Very light orange. This shade has very little pigmentation, but I like using it over corals to make them a little more orangey/peachy. This line doesn’t really have a true coral: probably one of it’s main cons.

2.2 2.1

Lilac Love

– This is one of my favorite shades. It’s light but the color is definitely there. I am totally digging the light purple-pink shades for this spring and summer. This is a fool proof way to rock the color!

4.2 4.1

Apricot Pucker

– Medium orange. This shade is basically just a darker version of Cantaloupe Cream. Since this shade isn’t fully opaque, it layers with the natural color of my lips and creates a really pretty coral color. I actually really like how this looks!

5.2 5.1

Apple a Day

– Sheer, true red. I love wearing this when I want a red lip, but I don’t want to fully commit to a full punch lipstick. This was the shade I had wanted to try in the first place and had to hunt down for quite a while. I definitely recommend this one! This shade also stains the lips, and the color lasts even after the shine wears off.

6.2 6.1

Pink Pout

– A medium raspberry pink. I like this shade, but it’s nothing outstanding. I like this for a nice wash of color, though, and it does the job for a nice pink lip.

7.1 7.2

Just Plum Good

– A medium purpley pink. Although this gloss looks a little intimidating in the tube, the color sheers out perfectly on the lips for a pop of purple. The shade is still vibrant, but in a subtle, wearable way. This was one of my go to’s for the winter months, and I’ll continue to rock it into the warmer weather.

Hand Swatches

0531140740

Blooming Balm – Cantaloupe Cream – Lilac Love – Apricot Pucker – Apple a Day – Pink Pout – Just Plum Good

 Bottom line: these are pretty good glosses. There’s nothing about them that is super spectacular, but they smell good, look good, and are easy to wear. These are great beginner glosses as well! These will definitely remain a staple product in my makeup cycle.

What’s your favorite summer gloss?

xoxo Gigi.

P.S. How is it possible that the bottom half of my face can look so different just with slight shifts of the camera angle? Looking at all those close up lip swatches is messing with me.

 

I love to hear what you have to say!

