What’s in my Makeup Bag? (Colorguard Edition)

picture644

Makeup bag from Forever 21

Competition season is upon us in the indoor colorguard world. With it comes new uniforms, new floors, and new makeup looks! My guard’s theme calls for a more natural look, so none of the products in that pretty little bag are very revolutionary, but I love them all the same. And everything I chose to use is drugstore except for a couple of my brushes (which sometimes I don’t even use).

FACE

 

Face:

I like to go light on my face because I tend to get pretty sweaty when performing. I just aim to even my skin tone, set it, and forget it.

Covergirl BB Cream in 810
Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser for Dark Circles in Fair
Covergirl Clean pressed powder in 535

EYES

 

Eyeshadows:

Like I previously mentioned, we’re going for a neutral makeup look. I start with some primer, then use some golden champagne shades and deeper browns on my lid. I like this loreal pressed shadow as a base because it pumps up the sparkle! Then I use a small brush with the wet n wild single to smudge a faux wing on my upper lash line. This makes my eyes look more defined while keeping the look soft. (And it won’t melt off my face!)

Elf Eyelid Primer
Wet n Wild Comfort Zone Palette
Loreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Eternal Sunshine
Wet n Wild single in Panther

definition and lips

 

Eye Definition:

Since this still is performance makeup, there’s some small steps I like to take to amp up the definition of my eyes. I use a black waterproof (it’s an emotional show) eyeliner in my tightline and then smudge some brown on my lower lashline and waterline. I’ll then curl my lashes and apply a generous coat of water resistant mascara. This clump crusher water resistant formula holds my curl and doesn’t flake into my eyes while performing!

Rimmel Scandaleyes Kohl Kajal in Black
Rimmel Exaggerate Waterproof Eyeliner in Sable
Maybelline Unstoppable Eyeliner in Onyx (my backup liner)
Covergirl Clump Crusher Water Resistant Mascara in Very Black

Lips:

Our show colors include lots of soft pinks, so I decided to play that off subtly on my lips. I know my lip products are going to fade off while performing, so I go for lightweight formulas that’ll wear off evenly. And that lip gloss/balm smells amazing, so bonus!

Revlon Lip Butter in Sweet Tart
Almay Liquid Lip Balm in Blooming

tools

 

Tools:

I try to pack light when it comes to brushes and tools. I tend to use my fingers more than anything, especially when applying it quickly on a rushed show day. My lash-curler is a must, and I need a small angled brush for my faux eyeliner trick. The other brushes are just for blending and setting purposes.

Revlon Lash Curler
Real Techniques Expert Face Brush – for blending and setting concealer
Elf Studio Angled Brush
Sephora Angled Blush Brush – for blending and setting rest of face (it’s easier to pack than a kabuki)
Dual-ended Eyeshadow Brush from the Naked 3 Palette (2 in 1 = convenience!)

extras

 

Extras:

I like to use some form of setting spray after I’m finished with everything. It just helps seal all my hard work in place and (hopefully) keep my makeup on through the end of the show. The makeup remover wipes are just for any slip ups that happen all too often when applying makeup quickly.

Elf Makeup Mist and Set
Target Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes.

second competitionnnn

 

You can’t really see my makeup in detail, but at least you can see me being cute with my two best friends after we were done performing. Also, I did my friend Molly’s makeup too! (She’s the one on the bottom) And I did some light contouring for my other friend, Gabby. I think we all look pretty fabulous!

I’m sure this collection is going to change over the course of the season, but I’m content with it for now. However, I’m already considering playing around with my naked 3 palette instead to bring out some more of the pinks. What do you think would be some great products to add to my lineup? I’m always looking for excuses to invest in more makeup.

Happy Monday!
xoxo Gigi.

One thought on “What’s in my Makeup Bag? (Colorguard Edition)

  1. Pingback: 3 Best Eye makeup tips for natural and beautiful eyes

I love to hear what you have to say!

