The Nude Hunt

picture580

Over my winter break, I’ve discovered a new love for nudes. Nude lipsticks that is. While I still love darker colors, I think nudes compliment so many eye looks and can be much more wearable. My berry lippies will forever be my favorite, but I thought it was time to branch out.

photo (1)

Finding the perfect nude for me has been difficult to say the least. I have a warm skin tone, but really pink cheeks, so finding the perfect shade for my complexion has been tricky. What I’ve been doing is finding the lipstick and then pairing it with opposite toned lipgloss. For example, I’ll wear a peach toned lipstick with a rosy gloss on top. This combo plays off of my skin pretty well. I also try to go for sheer-er formulas that let my naturally pink lip color show through to neutralize it a bit. So the hunt is still on, but right now I have a small little nude team that’s been working for me.

picture584

Lipsticks:

1. Revlon Colorburst Matte Balm in Complex

2. Wet n Wild Megalast in Just Peachy

3. Loreal Colour Riche  in Fairest Nude

4. Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate in 08

picture585

Glosses:

1. Almay Liquid Lip Balm in Blooming Balm

2. Loreal Colour Caresse Wet Shine Stain in Lilac Ever After (how bout that name? sheesh)

3. Revlon Super Lustrous Lip Gloss in Snow Pink

I might have more nudey colors at school that I didn’t bring home because I thought I would never wear them. But these are the ones that I like for not only the color but for the formula as well. Also, this is my first Almay lip product and I must say I absolutely love it! (It smells and tastes like cupcakes!)

picture589

Bonus!:

Maybelline Color Sensational in Blushing Beige + Colour Caresse Wet Shine Stain in Endless Red

When I saw that Maybelline came out with a nude line of lipsticks, I practically flipped out. It’s like they had read my mind! But the shade I picked up was just way too close to my skin tone, so it made me look dead. I was determined to make it work though, so I added a really bright and pigmented glossy stain over top it it. It created a really pretty rosey shade that is actually quite perfect for my skin tone. I feel like this lipstick will work as a great base for overly bright lipsticks that I want to make more wearable. See? There’s a bright side to everything.

If you ever thought nudes weren’t for you, like I did for quite a while, you just need to find the perfect tone for your skin. It might be an intense quest, but it’ll all be worth it. (Too much? Oh well. I mean serious business when it comes to lipsticks.)

xoxo Gigi.

I love to hear what you have to say!

