Fangirl – Bookish Thoughts

Rate: 5/5 stars

Damn, this book really got to me.

I’ve never been able to relate to a character more. Cath was literally me down to the very last detail. As a college student studying writing and experiencing the lonely struggles of it, Cath was the perfect main character for me. There were paragraphs which seemed so familiar, it felt like I had written them myself. I got so emotional at the end just for the pure reason that I never get to read about these characters again. I read the book in less than 2 days and I feel like I’ve known them my whole life. Basically, all my rambling just means that the characters were really well written and believable.

I do think that it ended abruptly. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, I just feel like some strings were left a little frayed. But there weren’t any plot holes or anything, and I felt satisfied with how it all ceased. I do have to say, I wanted to know how the Simon Snow story ended, but that’s just me being nosy and selfish as a reader.

The only read downside for me was that it made me dig up a lot of my insecurities with my own writing. I even logged into my old writing community. (Mibba anyone?). It just got me to thinking, that’s all. And if you know me at all, you know that I doubt myself way too much and hate too think about it.

All in all, this was just such a great book, and I’m glad it’s the first of Rowell’s novels I chose to read. Now I’m going to run out and get all her others!

So now I’m off to go wallow in post book depression. (Getting invested in fictional worlds is exhausting!)

xoxo Gigi.

I love to hear what you have to say!

